About Us

NTDC Ltd has been established by the seven Member Councils of Break O'Day, City of Launceston, Flinders, George Town, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands and West Tamar. Together they have together signalled their strong desire to work with and through NTDC to facilitate a significant improvement in prosperity throughout the region. The Members are seeking, and strongly encourage, significant business and community involvement in and with NTDC.


Board Chair John PittCHAIR - John Pitt

John brings a wealth of experience from his previous Managing Director role with engineering company pitt&sherry dating from 1989 through to his reitrement last year.  As Managing Director he was responsible for the company's operations with his role centred on growing the business, leadership, strategic planning and the development of a competitive, sustainable company culture.

In addition to this, John was last year's Gold medal winner awarded by the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and also last year's Hall of Fame winner awarded by the Launceston Chamber of Commerce.


Director:  Food and Agribusiness - Greg Bott

Director - Greg Bott

Greg has had a long and distinguished career in rural banking which has now been exchanged for a self-employed career as a financial consultant to the rural community.  His key focus is to build profitability and productivity at farm gate and to help drive the Tasmanian brand to achieve stronger economic returns fro the state economy and individual farmers.

This passion is to have Tasmania recognised globally for the quality of product produced so that farmers can achieve the premiums they deserve.

Director:  Health - Lucy Byrne

Board Director - Lucy ByrneLucy is an experienced community and health promotion professional.  After growing up on a farm in Fingal, Northern Tasmania, Lucy graduated in 2000 with a Bachelor of Arts (Recreation Management) from Victoria University.  Lucy jumped straight into the industry finding roles within local government, sports organisations, youth justice and adventure tourism.

In July 2016 Lucy established the start-up company; Healthy Tasmania. Healthy Tasmania works with community partners to build capacity, improve equity and inclusion, and promote pride of place; their motivation is to make communities thrive.

Director:  Tourism - Chris Griffin

Board Director - Chris GriffinIn 2012 Chris was appointed CEO of Tourism Northern Tasmania, the regional tourism organisation tasked with growing the economic and social returns from visitors to our nothern communities.  Prior to arriving in Tasmania, Chris had worked across the tourism and travel industires in New Zealand.

Based in Launceston, Chris is now more broadly involved in the community and service related industries and believes the future successes for the northern region relies upon collaboration between industry leaders, local and State governments.


Director:  Competitive Manufacturing - Jeff Hawkins

Board Director - Jeff HawkinsDr Jeff Hawkins is the Managing Director of Pivot Maritime International and the Asia Pacific Maritime Institute.  Pivot Marine International specialises in maritime simulation.  It is the only Australian company that manufactures maritime simulators; it also provides simulation consultancy and training services for shipowners, ports, maritime regulatory authorities, and regional bodies.  The Asia Pacific Maritime Institute conducts maritime research and technical audits in the port and shipping sectors across the Asia Pacific region.

Dr Hawkins began his career as a Ship Master and Marine Superintendent on international trading ships.  Since moving ashore, he has focused on strategic innovation, entrepreneurship, and management in the maritime industry.  He has 15 years' experience in competitive manfacturing, with his company Pivot Maritime International, winning state and national awards for innovative export products and services; nine years in tourism and transport as a Director on the TT Line Board of Directors; and over 25 years in maritime education and training.

Director:  Education - Sue Kilpatrick

Board Director - Sue KilpatrickProfessor Sue Kilpatrick is Professor of Education, Faculty of Education with the University of Tasmania.  She was previously Pro-Vice Chancellor (Students), Unviersity of Tasmania (2012-2015) and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Rural and Regional), Deakin University (2009 - 2011).  Sue's diverse career in higher education has spanned economics, vocational education and training (VET), regional development, rural education and rural health.

Sue is an active contributor with genuine interest in Tasmania's future who is passionate about education and training and the future of Tasmania.  Her desire to contribute to this future was one of the reasons she returned to Tasmania in 2012.

Director:  Entrpreneurship, Start-Up & Innovation - Adam Mostogl

Board Director - Adam MostoglAdam is passionate about embracing creative and innovative solutions to common problems, with experience in retail, heavy industry, tourism, hospitality, and brand management.  Since 2012, over 2700 young Australians have undertaken entrepreneurial education programs led by Adam across the country, which focuses on inspiring students to recognise how they can be the job creators of the future.

Adam is also the Executive Director of the Van Diemen Project, which was recently announced as Tasmania's Most Innovative Start-up that offers business advice, mentoring and training courses to help more Tasmanian businesses and entrepreneurs do great things globally.



Maree Tetlow Executive Officer NTD 

CEO - Maree Tetlow

Maree was born in Launceston and has worked in senior roles in government, tourism, marketing and business development agencies throughout Australia for the past 25 years. Prior to working with NTDC, Maree was the Executive Officer for more than three years with the Launceston Chamber of Commerce.  Maree worked with the City of Launceston Council on major projects prior to her work with the Chamber.  

Her interstate roles included: nine years as Chief Executive of Tourism NT, the Northern Territory Government's tourism marketing and development agency based in Darwin, Deputy CEO for the membership based organisation - Melbourne Convention and Marketing Bureau, and Director of Marketing for Tourism Queensland.

A Fellow of the Australian Institute of Directors, Maree has served on many not-for-profit boards and is currently Vice Chair of the Heritage Isle Credit Union. 


Current Annual Report


Annual Report 2016


Annual Report 2016






NTD Annual Report 2015



Annual Report 2015

Freycinet Peninsula, East Coast Tasmania